Calling all of you in the wine trade!

postcardv1I’d like to help you, your colleagues and your customers find more trustworthy, in-depth wine information on the Internet. And I could use your help getting the word out about Able Grape:

•  If you’d like a stack of Able Grape postcards (see image at left) for display in your store or restaurant, or to give to your trade clientele, please drop me an email with your address, and I’ll gladly send some to you.

•  If you’re in the San Francisco Bay Area, get in touch and I’d be happy to come out and demo Able Grape for you and your colleagues, and show you some tips and tricks for finding great, in-depth wine information (some of which is very difficult or impossible to find via Google!). I’d also appreciate the chance to talk with you and learn how I can make Able Grape an even better tool for our community. Have thoughts or suggestions about what you need when looking for wine information? Get in touch, I’d love to come out and meet you. (If you’re not in the Bay Area, get in touch anyway, I’d love to hear your thoughts, and who knows when I may be in your neighborhood…)

15 Responses to “Calling all of you in the wine trade!”


  1. 1 Strappo February 8, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    If I had a shop I’d display it, Doug.

    As it is, it’s hard enough to flog the juice these days.

    Buon lavoro comunque!

    • 2 ablegrape February 8, 2009 at 10:45 pm

      Well, Strappo, at least you’ve got some good juice to flog. I really enjoyed the samples you sent, particularly the Greco di Tufo and the ‘Rasott’ (very tasty aglianico). They were also a hit with the staff at CAV, where I tasted them. Still working on sending you my tasting notes!

  2. 3 Danielle R February 8, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    we actually interacted with your search engine at our sales meeting Friday to research unsolicited wines that were sent to us per my suggestion. Every sales rep and manager found it useful and efficient and planned to use it again. Thanks so much!

  3. 5 ryan February 8, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    how about multiple languages? Would love some anyways to hand out at wine fairs, and talks I give!

    • 6 ablegrape February 8, 2009 at 11:22 pm

      Ryan, much appreciate your offer! I’m planning to make some in other languages. I assume you want Spanish? I’ll see what options I have for doing the printing in Europe and having them ship to you locally.

  4. 7 hodson33 February 9, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    I’ve ordered cards– something else to think about: do you attend any of the major tastings? Just this weekend, for example, the Pechanga Wine Festival in Temecula drew thousands with about 80 wineries participating; Loyola Marymount did their thing near Marina Del Rey with maybe 45 wineries. These would be great opportunities for you to get the word out.
    Congratulations on creating a very useful tool for the wine community.I’ve only been a user for a few weeks, and already I don’t know how I got along without you! Thanks so much –Ed

  5. 8 ablegrape February 10, 2009 at 1:03 am

    Hi Ed,

    First, thanks so much for the kind words. I try to get to as many tastings as possible, and I’ll be bringing stacks of AG postcards to all the ones I can make. For those I can’t make, I’d welcome help. Next time you, or any other kind member of the Able Grape community is heading to a tasting or festival and willing to bring a stack of cards, let me know; I’ll gladly send you some!

  6. 9 pippa February 16, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    I gave your web address to the WSET so it can be listed as aresource for Diploma students like me ….Hope it helped

  7. 10 Bradley February 19, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Hi Doug,
    Saw the cards at Twestival (of course).
    Happy to put a stack on the counter at Township 7 and we can pop them into our Black Cloud shipments when they start going out.

    Send them to me c/o
    T7
    1450 McMillan Avenue
    Penticton BC
    V2A 8T3

  8. 12 ceri February 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Hi Doug – I have them proudly displayed ~ and on our emails and anytime anyone asks and…
    I call you the “better than google for all things wine”.
    Sorry to have missed you the other day, but thanks for coming by.
    ~C

  9. 14 Klaus Asmus June 22, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    How about some recognition of amateur winemakers . I’m in the AWO(amateur winemakers of ontario). Our organization recently recomended your site in our monthly newsletter. There are thousands of serious amateurs in Canada and the States. I crush about a ton of purchased grapes(mostly from California) and I grow my own hybrids. I am passionate about wine. Your search is way better than google! I use it all the time.

    • 15 ablegrape June 22, 2009 at 9:05 pm

      Hi Klaus – thanks for the kind words. If there are things I can do to make Able Grape even better from the amateur winemaker perspective, please do let me know!


Leave a Reply

Able Grape, a wine information search engine

l’Infernot

a

blah


