What are all these posts in French?

Some of you may be wondering why the Able Grape blog is suddenly peppered with french posts. My Québecois friend Rémy Charest, author of the excellent blogs À Chacun sa Bouteille (in French) and The Wine Case (in English), is also the force behind the tasting group Les Vendredis du Vin (a great French-language wine blogging community, a bit like Wine Blogging Wednesday, but, um, well, on Fridays instead because “Mercoledis du Vin” just sounds crappy), and asked if I’d like to lead this month’s dégustation. So I sat around, as Julian of Bubble Brothers nicely put it, slaving over a hot dictionary, putting together a couple of hopefully interesting and vaguely grammatically correct posts. It was a lot of fun, and a great chance to work on my French.

One of the things I most love about Able Grape is that it — like the world of wine itself — spans languages and cultures, and it’s been a great chance for me to connect with the wine community from all over the world. Coming soon will be Able Grape en Español, and improved versions of AG’s other languages… and as always, if you have comments, questions, or suggestions about how I can make Able Grape the best possible tool for you, please let me know.

PS: obligatory product plug: Able Grape knows about both VdV and WBW as concepts, so you should get great results for these queries, though our weekly update frequency may miss the very most recent posts.

8 Responses to “What are all these posts in French?”


  1. 1 Iris December 6, 2008 at 8:21 am

    As a member of the regularly contributors to our VdV meetings in French, I want to tell you, how pleased we are to read your posts in (excellent) French:-) – even if your theme was a bit difficult for us – Thanksgiving is not really out tea cup over here. But as you gave us the possibility to talk about other occasions, when good food, friendship and wine bring people together, it was a pleasure to contribute to this 20th edition of our meetings.

    I think most of us (like me) would be proud, if our English was half as fluent and elegant as your French:-)! So thank you for joining the froggy community – I hope that there will be lots of French posts on this blog in the future and that others will follow your example – so one day, we will perhaps be able to have international wine blogging days around the world.

  2. 2 Thomas Lippert December 6, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Well Doug, in this case take this as a official invitation to be host of the german version of wbww, VDV, the Weinrallye.
    I’m sure you could even manage german!!

  3. 3 ablegrape December 6, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Iris,

    Thanks for your kind words. I should also thank Rémy (again) for his editorial help! He caught a few of my mistakes prior to posting… I love French and hope to make more French posts in the future (and hopefully with decreasing need for editorial help!) à bientôt, doug

  4. 4 ablegrape December 6, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Thomas-

    Now THAT’s a challenge. I’ve always wanted to learn German but starting with a post might be a bit optimistic! Give me a couple of years…

  5. 5 Iris December 7, 2008 at 10:24 am

    I volunteer for the post of your simultaneous interpretor, Doug, it would change me from writing in foreign languages and to write in my native German:-)!

  6. 6 Julian December 8, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I’m all for the posts in different languages, even if I can’t understand them – sharing the global whatsitsname and all that. Because we have a French member of staff now, I may duck out of putting up any posts in French myself, but I’d certainly like to get some comments from the countries we buy our wines from, and I don’t expect everyone to write in English just because that’s my language. Good to see you leading the charge towards polyglot wineblogging, Doug. Boutez en avant, as the Barry family say in this part of the world.

  7. 7 gastrolinguista December 11, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Oh, next time it’d be nice to read you in Italian and Spanish😀

  8. 8 ablegrape December 11, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Italian and Spanish at the same time? Sarebbe muy interesante!😉 Seriously, am planning Italian posts soon. They’re overdue (not that I post as much as I’d like even in English!) However, my “travel Spanish” is acceptable for ordering food/wine, dealing with hotels n’ such, but might not be so interesting to read! Maybe with a little help…


Leave a Reply

Able Grape, a wine information search engine

l’Infernot

a

blah


