Getting ready for the Wine Blogger Conference

It’s been a crazy week, and every day I look at my blog and think, “today’s the day I’m going to do a little blogging.” I’ve got so many posts running around my head, waiting to come out. And then I get caught up in the myriad business-critical things going on at Able Grape Central, and, well, by 9 pm I just want to chill out with a nice glass of wine and a good book (yesterday’s pairing was the 2001 William Fèvre Chablis Grand Cru “Valmur,”, an acidic, minerally, leesy/honeyed bit of yum that I just couldn’t keep my hands off of, even though I really should wait another 3-5 years, and Niccolò Ammaniti’s latest book “Come Dio Comanda,” which won the “Strega” prize for Italian literature. Too early to comment on the book, but so far it seems on a par with Ammaniti’s usual blend of excellent writing and a really sick imagination).

Over the next couple of days I’ll have the pleasure of meeting many of you at the Wine Bloggers Conference, in Santa Rosa. Earlier this year I had the good fortune to attend the European Wine Blogger Conference, the first ever of its kind, and it was fantastic. I look forward to seeing how the two events differ, and to connecting with a lot of you over the weekend. Please say hi!

5 Responses to “Getting ready for the Wine Blogger Conference”


  1. 1 Ryan October 24, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Wish we could be there with you! Can’t wait to hear what you think, and to read the reports!

  2. 2 marshall October 26, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Hey doug! I’m standing behind u in the oak room!

  3. 3 Megan October 26, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    The conference was so much fun! Thanks for hanging out with us, Blind Tasting Champion!🙂

  4. 4 Ward Kadel October 28, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Hi there Doug,

    It was great meeting you at the WBC and sitting next to you at the Sebastiani dinner…very good conversation! I look forward to seeing you again soon!

  5. 5 ablegrape October 28, 2008 at 12:14 am

    Hey Ward, Megan, great to meet you guys, too.


Leave a Reply

Able Grape, a wine information search engine

l’Infernot

a

blah


